Some like it HOT! (BBQ Sauce that is!)

Maybe it’s ’cause I have sauce on my brain (almost literally) from brewing up a few cases yesterday, but I am writing this post to give a shout out to Picky Vicki! (www.pickyvicki.com)  Last year, my wife dragged me to some food show, or maybe I dragged her, either way we ALWAYS stop and buy BBQ sauce when someone’s selling.  LUCKY for me…there was Picky Vicki…well, not Vicki herself, but her BBQ Sauces and the XXX immediately caught my eyes!  As it turns out the three X’s were followed by “Hot Stuff”…what guy wouldn’t be paying attention by now? 

Now, we make our own sauces and I am a BIG fan of Hoover the Hound’s Southern Fusion, but none of our commercially available ‘small batch’ sauces really tips the Scoville scales to far toward the XXX side.  Further, I am not a big fan of any sauce that’s hot simply for the sake of being HOT…I like to be able to taste it too!  Well…Picky Vicki’s XXX Hot Stuff fits this bill PERFECTLY!  It’s got that easily discernable, back of the throat heat that comes from Habenero’s and it is PACKED with flavor!  She’s got it dialed in with this sauce and while I have yet to try her others…I’m getting more of this stuff fo’ sure!  SO…if you are like me and can appreciate a truly HOT sauce that’s still got tons of flavor, you’ve got to give this one a try!  Only bummer…High Fructose Corn Syrup…a concession to the co-packer and commercial processing is my assumption, but it still doesn’t get in the way of the punch that the XXX will give you!

Speaking of co-packing and because our ‘off’ season is once again coming to a close without a resolution to our ‘Sauce Issue’ here at GreatQ4U!, we are looking to do a production run of the Southern Fusion.  If any readers have experience with co-packers out there and would like to share, I am all ears!  I’m pretty picky about ingredients and need to work with a company that has Integrity above all else!  You can e-mail me directly: Jim@GreatQ4U.com or respond here on the blog, I look forward to it!  Meanwhile, check out Picky Vicki! (Have I said that enough here?) www.pickyvicki.com

Hoover the Hound's Southern Fusion BBQ Sauce

One thought on “Some like it HOT! (BBQ Sauce that is!)

  1. Chef Hymie Grande (www.chefhymiegrande.com ) is the first and only bottled BBQ sauce to carry the seal of the American Diabetes Association on the label. It has no high fructose corn syrup, no processed sugar, it is all natural and vegan friendly. It is produced at the Rutgers Food Innovation Center in Bridgton, NJ by Jamie Failtelson, a.k.a. Chef Hymie Grande of Carlstadt, NJ. 5% of proceeds go to the American Diabetes Association.

Leave a Reply

