Has anyone noticed…it’s COLD outside???

I know, it’s a rhetorical question and that no one likes a smartass, but I think that I have ice crystals in my brain so you’ll have to forgive me just this once!  As it turns out, I do have a point to my cold weather antics and that is to say that just because it’s cold, doesn’t mean that you can’t enjoy some BBQ!   In fact (I’ve mentioned this before) I am of the opinion that some of the BEST BBQ to be had is made in the colder months.  My rationale for this belief is that the “Q” is typically on the smoker a bit longer when it’s cold out due to the temperature variation between the air and the smoker.  I am also aware that this belief can be called into question by some other BBQ lovers and that’s not what this post is all about, so I’ll quickly move on and perhaps we can chew that fat on another day!

My point about BBQ in the cold months is that you can still do it and it does taste better if for no other reason than the fact that most folks don’t associate Great “Q” with winter!  BUT, in order to do it right, you’ve got to do some planning and be ready.  No matter what type of smoker or fuel you use, you need to plan on the cooking to take a bit longer.  Ideally, you’ll be able to maintain a consistent temp inside your smoker of whatever you like to cook at, but that’s darned near impossible when the mercury gets so low!  It’s even worse when the wind starts a blowin’! 

Therefore, when you’re planning on cooking some “Q” this time of year you should scout out the best locale for your smoker, preferably an area that’s got some shelter from the wind!  You also need to make sure that you’ve got enough fuel to get you through the whole smoke!  It will take considerably more than it does in the summer months to keep the same internal temp so load up!  Finally, keep an eye on your prize…you have to be vigilant about the flame and its effect on your smoker and don’t plan on getting much rest if you’re cooking overnight!

If any of our readers have suggestions about how to smoke ’em in the cold, please feel free to share!  We’d love to hear from you…

Leave a Reply

